I’ve been following this website called GOOD for a while. I now get ‘one good thing a day’ straight to my inbox after subscribing, and I must say I was a little pessimistic about them actually sending good stuff..but they won the bet.

What got my attention lately is their “30 days of GOOD” challenges they do every month. Last month was on “Financial Fitness”, the one before it was on “Microphilanthropy”. February is on “GOOD Citizenship”. The idea is that if you register for any monthly challenge you get daily tasks in your inbox with regards to that specific subject.

The tasks so far (It’s still the middle of the month) vary from things you can do with a little research or in the comfort of your own home like “Learn the history of your neighborhood” or “Read two opposing opinion pieces on the same topic” or even “Make a list of issues you’re passionate about.” From simple things as “Get a library card” to “Register to vote” or “Register to volunteer”. They even included the all too famous “Help someone today.”

I am not sure if the “ten commandments” are the best criteria for being ‘good’ or a good citizen nowadays l but I have no clue what else applies. I don’t think I’ve ever sat down to think about who the good citizen is. Most things that pop into my head and that might circulate and be heard around are things that a good citizen ‘would not’ do, passive sentences. Do not throw trash out on the street. Do not put on loud music in the middle of the night. Do not park in 2 parking spots. Do not hit a fellow human being in the head if you disagree on something. Do not.. do not.

The list GOOD is working on is made up of DO’s that are truly simple things one should work on to become a better citizen.

If I’m to make a mini list it would include the above mentioned things from GOOD with an addition of: Do correct peoples’ mistakes if they will have bad consequences (Even if it’s not your job). Do remind people to constantly be GOOD. Do stand up to evil/wrong doing. Do consider all things/spaces to be your own. Do look at things the way they’re supposed to be and not the way they are. Do interact. Do get our of your bubble. Do constantly redefine and reassess your thoughts and your actions. What are your thoughts on this? Also, can one be a good citizen but not necessarily ‘good’? A few questions to sleep on.

